The idea behind OpenUM is quite simple : to develop simple software solutions for researchers in order to ensure a better and broader dissemination of scholarly research. It also allows open access research, as well as the use of technologies in the context of knowledge transfer. The L.R. Wilson Chair, but previously by the Chaire en droit de la sécurité et des affaires électroniques, is financially supporting the development of software solutions behind OpenUM.

The OpenUM.ca platform’s primary goal is to offer these turnkey solutions free of charge to scholar researchers. The Chair is currently financing the management and the hosting of the websites that are launched through the OpenUM solutions. As of the users, they only have to take care of the content.

 

OpenUM presents itself as a knowledge multiplier. Nowaways, too many scholars still have a great deal of difficulty to disseminate the result of their research whether it be to their colleagues, students, professionals working in the same field as them, journalists, or even to the general public. Moreover, with the emergence of new technologies that allows us to put various types of content on the same platform, regardless of the type of support that is used (text, audio, video, photo etc.), it is now possible to favor the implementation of a “digital footprint” on which the scholar has a better control upon. Since researchers are indeed the best placed to “sell” their knowledge, OpenUM aims to offer them solutions that will allow them to publicize their work in the best and most efficient way possible.

OpenUM’s origins

Since 2005, in addition to the substantial amount of research on information technology law (evidence, contracts, consumer law, privacy law etc.) the Chaire en droit de la sécurité et des affaires électroniques has also worked on the use of technology in a dissemination of knowledge context. Moreover, since 2009, the Chair is committed to finance and coordinate the development of many software solutions that allow a better dissemination of knowledge and research.

In 2005, the Chair financed the launch of the www.gautrais.com which main goal was to allow a better dissemination of research in information technology law. That website won a Clawbies 2010 for the best Law Faculty Blog. In 2014, that ForceRouge, la les platform was revamped using ForceRouge, so that it could easily be reused by law professors. In 2012, with the support from the Ministère de la Justice du Québec and of the Fondation du Barreau, the Chair launched ForceVerte as well as the www.lccjti.ca and www.lsaq.ca websites, amongst others. These websites allow an online access to content dedicated to quebec laws. Meanwhile, from 2010 to 2013, the Chair also developed ForceBleue with the support of the Organisation internationale de la Francophonie. The website droitdu.net,a collaborative project which goal is to disseminate quality content on the theme of digital law, was launched with this platform.

Following the launch of the new www.gautrais.com at the beginning of February 2014, many scholars have expressed an interest in benefitting from a simple solution that could help them create a digital presence for themselves. In order to meet that demand, the Chair started a platform project offering "Tools for a digital education at the Université de Montréal" OpenUM.

 

OpenUM was developed with the Université de Montréal law faculty. This project aims to create more openness amongst scholar researchers through diverse universities and fields of knowledge.

 

With the support of the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council, OpenUM is currently developing ForceOrange, an online journal platform, and ForceJaune, a platform allowing knowledge transfert via videos.

Since June 1st 2015, the L.R. Wilson Chair took over the Chaire d’excellence en droit de la sécurité et des affaires électroniques regarding the administrative support as well as the financing of the project.

L’idée derrière OpenUM est simple : développer des solutions logicielles simples aux chercheurs pour assurer une meilleure diffusion de la recherche, une recherche en libre accès et une utilisation des technologies dans le cadre des transferts de connaissance. La Chaire L.R. Wilson, et auparavant la Chaire en droit de la sécurité et des affaires électroniques, finance le développement de solutions logicielles en ce sens.

La plateforme OpenUM.ca a pour but d’offrir ces solutions clé-en-main gratuitement aux chercheurs. La Chaire finance la gestion et l’hébergement des sites propulsés par les solutions OpenUM; les utilisateurs s’occupent du contenu.

 

OpenUM se présente comme un multiplicateur de connaissances. Trop souvent, les académiques ne parviennent pas à faire connaître leurs recherches tant à leurs collègues, leurs étudiants, les professionnels, les journalistes, la population civile. Aussi, avec les technologies nouvelles qui permettent désormais de mettre sur une même plateforme un contenu quel que soit le support utilisé (textuel, audio, vidéo, photo), il devient possible de favoriser la mise en place d’une « empreinte numérique » mieux contrôlée par le chercheur lui-même. Les chercheurs sont souvent les meilleurs « vendeurs » de leurs savoirs, les solutions OpenUM vise à leur offrir des solutions pour permettre une meilleure publicité de leurs travaux.

Les origines d’OpenUM

Depuis 2005, au delà des recherches substantielles en lien avec le droit des technologies (preuve, droit des contrats, droit de la consommation, vie privée, etc.), la Chaire en droit de la sécurité et des affaires électroniques a travaillé autour de l’utilisation des technologies pour le droit et la diffusion de la connaissance. Depuis 2009, la Chaire s’est attachée à financer et coordonner le développement de plusieurs solutions logicielles permettant une meilleure diffusion de la recherche et de la connaissance.

En 2005, la Chaire finançait le lancement de www.gautrais.com dont l’objectif central était de permettre une meilleure diffusion de la recherche en droit des technologies. Ce site obtint le Clawbies 2010 comme étant le meilleur site académique de diffusion du droit. En 2014, avec ForceRouge, la plateforme a été revampée afin qu’elle puisse être réutilisée facilement par les professeurs de droit. En 2012, avec le soutien du ministère de la Justice du Québec, puis de la Fondation du Barreau, la Chaire lançait ForceVerte et notamment les sites www.lccjti.ca puis www.lsaq.ca pour offrir en ligne du contenu dédié à des lois québécoises. De 2010 à 2013, avec le soutien de l’Organisation internationale de la Francophonie, la Chaire a  développé ForceBleue pour la mise en place de droitdu.net, soit un projet collaboratif visant à la diffusion de contenu de qualité sur la thématique du droit du numérique.

Suite au lancement du nouveau www.gautrais.com début février 2014, plusieurs universitaires ont faire part de leur intérêt à bénéficier d’une solution simple pour se créer une présence numérique. Pour répondre à cette demande, la Chaire a démarré un projet de plateforme offrant des “Outils pour l’éducation numérique à l’Université de Montréal”, OpenUM.

 

Développé au sein de la Faculté de droit de l’Université de Montréal, OpenUM a vocation à s’ouvrir aux autres chercheurs, tant dans les autres domaines du savoir que dans les autres universités.

 

Grâce au soutien du Conseil de recherche en sciences humaines du Canada, OpenUM développe actuellement ForceOrange, plateforme de revue en ligne, et ForceJaune, plateforme vidéo de transfert de connaissance.

Depuis le 1er juin 2015, la Chaire L.R. Wilson a pris le relai de la Chaire d’excellence en droit de la sécurité et des affaires électroniques pour le soutien administratif et financier du projet.